Team wheels to victory

The Waikato A Wheelchair Basketball team were crowned national champions on Sunday, beating Canterbury in Tauranga to take the trophy.

The Waikato A Wheelchair Basketball team were crowned 2018 Wheelchair Basketball National Champions in Tauranga last Sunday.

Eight teams were competing over two pools in the competition, with Cambridge locals Maioro Barton and CJ Takiari taking to the court for Waikato A in Pool 1, while Ryan Branje turned out for the Waikato (B) Tanks in Pool 2.

The Waikato Tanks had a tough pool and didn’t win any games, but came close in a few. Waikato A played Canterbury in Sunday’s final, beating the South Islanders by a convincing 69 to 38.

More Recent Sports

Another Hart has ’em in a spin

Josh Hart dreams of playing for the Black Caps one day – and he certainly has the sporting pedigree for it. His father Matthew played 14 tests and 13 one-day internationals for New Zealand from…

Top flight for Roberts and Frost

It’s a big week for Nikki Roberts and Kerin Frost who make their debuts at the North Island darts championships in Hamilton. The two Cambridge Darts Club members – known as The Finisher and KDawg…

Getting the youngsters on track

They went to enrich their leadership skills and left with the makings of a pretty decent track cycling team. Cambridge Middle School’s 2024 student leaders visited the Grassroots Trust Velodrome last Thursday, finishing the day…

More fun on the run

The annual Waipā Fun Run organised by Cambridge’s St Peter’s Catholic School is attracting a growing number of out-of-region participants. This year’s family fun walk and run event, which has Cambridge News as one of…